Kabale Diocese to establish a private University

Kabale Diocese to establish a private University

Kabale Diocese to establish a private University

The Catholic diocese of Kabale is in the process to establish and run a private institution of higher learning of its own, in the diocese.

According to the letter that was released from the Bishop’s office on August 23rd, the national
council for higher education honoured the diocese’s application on 18th July 2022 and granted to them a letter of interim authority to operate a private university in Uganda, the University name, “St. Ignatius University, Kabale”.

The letter of interim authority which was received from the national council for higher education allows the diocese to officially mobilize funds, acquire requisite infrastructure, and academic facilities: then also it will allow the diocese to officially organize academic and administrative human resources and do any other things that may further the development of the proposed university to its maturity.

The Diocese is now in process of organising the above requirements in view of applying for a
provisional license and on submission of the provisional license, National council for higher education will set a team to inspect the campus and when found ready, the diocese will be granted the provisional license for operation.

“l am writing to kindly request you to publicise the information of this university to all the people, for the cause that were planning to organise a special bishop’s annual appeal fund for this project and you Will be informed accordingly and with this information therefore I invite you to actively
collaborate with the steering committee in place so that we can together expedite the process of
realizing this noble project in our diocese.” Bishop Callist Rubaramira Said.

The steering committee members towards the establishment of St. Ignatius University, in Kabale
Diocese are, as listed below;

Dr. Soteri Karanzi as the chairperson and
Fr. Dr. Abel Beinomugisha as the Secretary.


Dr. Peter Ngategize
Prof. Peter Atekyereza
Prof. Nazarius Mbona
Assoc. Prof.Peter Turyakira
Dr. Biira Catherine Promise
Ms.Alice Baruga
Mr. Dennis Bakomeza
Mr. Odo N. Tukwasibwe
Mr. Odo Arigye
Mr. Zeno Mbishinz’Imana
Fr. Adrian Katarikawe.